Chapter History

Saint Mary’s County was established in 1637 and is home to the first Maryland Colony and the first Capitol of the Colony of Maryland. Saint Mary’s County is located in southern Maryland and is 58 miles south of Washington D.C., and offers the perfect opportunity for Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Incorporated to make an impact.

On November 9, 2014 fourteen like-minded trailblazers set out to expand Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Incorporated to Saint Mary’s County, Maryland. Their vision was brought to fruition October 28, 2015 when Beta Alpha Beta Zeta Chapter was granted its charter. Beta Alpha Beta Zeta Chapter became the twenty-sixth chapter, sixteenth graduate chapter and the first four-letter chapter of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Incorporated to be chartered in the state of Maryland. The 16th Atlantic Regional Director, Janet Bivins and the 10th Maryland State Director, Danielle Green, conducted the chartering ceremony on December 5, 2015 during the Maryland State Executive Board Meeting held in Towson, Maryland.

Charter members of Beta Alpha Beta Zeta Chapter; Shantoyia Adewunmi, Debborah Collins, Tasia Cooksey, April Cutchember, Candace Gaines, Cynthia Lilly, Betty Linney, Brasilia Lowe, Ozetta Posey, Carla Sands, Charyn Scrivens, Tyese Smith, Kimberly Tabourne and Mary Williams, gladly accepted the opportunity to increase the organization’s impact by building on traditions and blazing new paths in Saint Mary’s County, Maryland.